

PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org Phone: 402.359.2583 Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower 🚃

## Jim Knott - High School Principal Board Report

Douglas County West High School April 14, 2025

As we approach the end of the school year, many important events are either happening or are on the horizon at the high school. We recently finished administering the state-required Nebraska ACT on March 25. Sixty-five out of sixty-seven juniors arrived on time and ready to test that morning - an accomplishment in itself. The two students that were absent made up the test on April 8. Thanks go out to our ACT team of Dr. Dawn Marten, Katie Richards, Nikki Billedeaux, Trey Baker, Lindsey Boardman, Matt Caldwell, Chip Daehling, Kim LaChapelle, Dalton Tremayne, Randy Donner, Garrett Hoffman, Peggy Cooper, Kristen Phillips, Rachel Smith, and Shawna Younghans. The amount of time this group spent organizing and administering the test according to strict ACT standards is definitely appreciated. We should receive preliminary ACT results before the end of the school year.

We recently interviewed and hired three teaching positions for next year. They are listed below.

1) <u>MS/HS Assistant Band & Choir – Hired Ms. Morgan Thompson</u> – Ms. Thompson is originally from Blair and is currently finishing her undergraduate degree at the University of Nebraska, Omaha. She is student-teaching at Omaha Central High School in the Instrumental Music Department. At DC West, she will assist Mrs. Guinn and Mrs. Beyl in the middle and high school band and choir programs.

2) <u>HS Math – Hired Karmen Koch</u> – Ms. Koch is originally from Crofton, NE, student taught math at Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, and is currently in her first year teaching high school math at Crofton High School. Her undergraduate degree is from Wayne State College. Ms. Koch will teach Geometry, Honors Geometry, and Geometry Support at DC West.

3) <u>HS Special Education – Hired Kim Loofe</u> – Mrs. Loofe has worked as a special education teacher at several schools over the last twenty-five years, but her most recent stop was at Kearney High School from 2018-2025. She earned her undergraduate degree from UNO and her masters degree from Concordia University.

The third quarter honor roll is attached to the second page of this report.



		of Distinction 2024-2025	* All A's
Freshman	Sophomore	Junior	Senior
Anderson, Lola R	Albrecht, Hailey Jo *	Anderson, Bella R	Alexander, Karsten
Backer, Elijah Scott	Alexander, Trent J	Asher, Nolan G *	Atkins, Sydney *
Bakken, Jocelyn M *	Balus, Liliana *	Foster, Kayden	Badje, Jamison
Barbur, Nathaniel J	Beyl, Noelle Joy *	Giles, Joslyn O	Bakken, Jaeda K *
Barnes, Gavin	Bias-White, Peyton *	Gleason, Ian W	Bergsten, Will *
Bridges II, Cole R	Bonacci, Lydia G	Hayner, Nylee	Bohlen, Kelan R
Campbell, Haylee A	Braun, Amalia A	Hays-Lavender, Adora J	Boulogne, Abby E
Casper, Peyton	Bussen, James S.	Henrichs, Tess *	Collette, Tieler D
Churchhill, Ewan	Cooke, Allyson	Hinrichs, Barrett *	Davidson, Trent J *
Gifford, Kate Caroline *	Dasher, Brynlee F	Hoops, Caiden D	Dembinski, Carleigh A *
Graves, Zoe A	Daubenmier, Madeline	Jarecke, Maren	Denker, Jackson L*
Harris, Aurora A	Fletcher, Emily M	Jorgensen, Kai J	Denker, Jagger K
Hilker, Khloe Lee	Gottsch, Hayden P	Kincanon, Emma L*	Dorson, Markus
Holm, Lucas M *	Gottsch, Julian D	Kosiske, Lillian J	Farrens, Huston *
Jarecke, Ruby Bailey	Hanke, Tanner	Listenberger, Cade R	File, Alexis Leigh *
Jensen, Alea Ann *	Hernandez, Angel *	Monroe, Damian R	Fletcher, Austin R
Johnson, Harbor J *	Hert, Ava	Nelson, Kolten L	Graves IV, Robert
Kirby, Cohen M	Higginson, Scarlett	North, Amelia *	Green, Makenna
Klawitter, Addison E	Holding, Brayton L*	Oien, Benjamin	Greve, Chloe A
Kubicek, Alexa F *	Holding, Hunter W *	Olsen, Trey	Grimm, Ava *
Lakner, Aubrey Lynn *	Hunter, Halaina Sue	Parr, Grant	Hayden, Samuel W
Larrick, Conley	Janke, Wyatt	Pettit, Mason	Herman, Lily S*
Listenberger, Brock T	Jeffrey, Adisan M	Phillips, Alexander L*	Higginson, Stella *
Marten, Logan J	Kopocis, Emma	Phillips, Madelyn B*	Hillyer, Brody *
Mayer, William A *	Korb, Tucker Aaron	Pralle, Anella E *	Huber, Aspen
Monroe, Chevelle *	Lakner, Lillian Jade *	Rayer, Abby L	Jensen, Bryar
Murphy, Megan *	Landauer, Jack	Rippe, Kyler A	Jensen, Riley J
Parr, Annaliese M	Luthy, Johanna	Sattem, Jetta R*	Johnson, Catherine
Perkons, Tristan A	Mathes, Falon	Schieber, Trey	Johnson, Kiya
Ptacek, Griffin D	Mentzer, Jesse W	Schroeder, Waylon	Kennec, Abby A
Raver, Braden *	Nelson, Kinley	Schuiteman, Jackson	Kirby, Remy M *
Renner, Melanie	Perez Pages, Yhosvel	Stammer, Joseph D	Korb, Miles *
Sibbernsen, Sadie	Ray, Carina Kay	Strong, Addison M *	Lakner, Gavin *
Steele, Sophie C	Richards, Aubree	Swierczek, Jaxon *	Larsen, Bryce T *
Steinbach, Jack *	Shaw, Mallory Beth	Taft, Ethan	Madden, Cameron J *
Stover, Brooklyn	Smith, Lane	Thiessen, Cade J P	Maline, Avery J
Thompson, Brooklyn	Songer, Ryder L	Valadez, Paul	Mayer, Grant D *
Thompson, Olivia L	Stanton, Katelyn M	Vieth, Jadie A	Meduna, Colton
Troshynski, Harper	Travis, Gage *	West, Jasmine L	Mitchell, Madelyn G *
Troy, Landon M	VerMaas, Aspen	Wilcox, Beau *	Murdock, Roen A
Urban. Isabelle K	Walsh, Talia *	Winters, Evan A	Musson, Samuel
Wade, Brooke *	Walvoord, Ava G	Wohlers, Zane	Perkons, Sarah *
Wade, Evie *	Wiese, Brody	Zach, Izzabella J	Pojar, Logan J
White, Grace	Wiese, Ella L.J. *		Ptacek, Carli M
Willmott, Quinn	Zook, Sindee L		Steele, Evan *
Wiimott, Quinn			Sullivan, Mitchell J *
			Teitler, Zoe Ann *
			Thimmesch Luke W
			Thimmesch, Luke W VerMaas, Kayden A

Walsh, Brody Willmott, Colton Wolter, Dakota J Zach, Maddison M



Ouarter 3 Honor Roll of Merit 2024-2025

SENIORS	FRESHMEN	
Guardipee, Trenton	Acton, Chloe	
Heim, Aidan	Croft, Braden	
Kester, Grayson	Duran, Gabriela	
Koborg, Nathaniel	Dye, Austyn	
Scott, Grant	Flynn, Jeffery Jr.	
Smock, Jack	Galvin, Toren	
	Gritten, Bailey	
	Harlow, Ashton	
SOPHOMORES	Jefferson, Raymond	
Bailey Anderson	Mitchell, Mason	
Collin Biesterfield	Rehberg, Cozmo	
Jayden Blank-Jimenez	Rojas, Chloe	
Kyle Gregurich	Troshynski, Reese	
Cheyanne Kruse		
Lemay, Abigail		
Royuk, Reece		
Trost, Colton		
Walker, Madison		
	_	
JUNIORS	-	
Cappello, Mikayla		
Freen, Kaylee		
Imm, Tyson		
Lewis, Hailey		
Saathoff, Chloe		
Schnatz, Dalton		
Stanzel, Carson		
Sullivan, Brienna		
TenEyck, Wyatt		
White, Remington		